Primary learning includes whole-class, group and individual activities designed to develop an inquiring mind and teach basic learning skills needed for schooling and later life.


Literacy and numeracy are the building blocks of learning and that is why English and mathematics take up half of students' learning time in primary school.


Kindergarten to Year 6 focuses on six key learning areas:

  • English

  • Mathematics

  • Science and technology

  • Human society and its environment

  • Personal development, health and physical education

  • Creative arts


Primary school in NSW follows a curriculum based on stages of learning. Each stage is approximately equivalent to two school years. For each learning stage there are skills, knowledge and a level of understanding that each student should develop.


Early Stage 1 refers to Kindergarten

Stage 1 includes Years 1 and 2

Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4

Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6

© 2019 Gymea North Public School